Good news! My third novel, Proper Goodbye, was recently released through my publisher Black Rose Writing. Proper Goodbye is a standalone sequel to my debut novel, Wild Raspberries, and continues the story of our beloved character Beebe Walker.
    In Proper Goodbye, Beebe’s life changes when she learns about a secret buried in her father’s cemetery. The secret revolves around the burial of a homeless woman and, eventually, draws her home to Larkspur, Michigan, to renew a relationship with her father.

     Woven into Proper Goodbye are heart-rending situations, raw emotion, and a multi-leveled search for resolution and closure.  You'll also meet a young man named Yates Strand and his hairy yellow dog Barleycorn.

    You'll remember that Wild Raspberries flips readers’ expectations on their backsides with secrets, lies, and revelations. The characters doing the flipping are Callie MacCallum, Arnett Oldstone Sebring, Lizbeth Sebring, and Beebe Walker. That shining face you see in the background is Lucius Dameron, gay carpenter and meddler extraordinaire. Lucius never strays far from his lovely, lovely collection of women.
    Wild Raspberries will tug at your heartstrings and your funny bone. This unique love story begins after Callie MacCallum’s lover dies. Grief is a long process. Sewing memory quilts for others who grieve is Callie’s method of survival through lonely days and nights. This story will show you how healing can come from the most unexpected sources.
    Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont followed Wild Raspberries and is the first in the Wrenn Grayson Mysteries series. These are cozy mysteries with a host of returning characters, each distinctively memorable.
    Wrenn Grayson is a budding historian-for-hire in the small town of Havens, Ohio. As she leafs through Havens’ past history, she is drawn into a variety of mysteries. Her first adventure takes us to the Rosemont mansion to discover Trey Rosemont murdered. It also leads us on a chase to recover Egyptian artifacts stolen from local Eastwood University. And it requires our heroine to use her wits to solve both mysteries and save herself from life-threatening danger.
    Spend some time looking around my website. Let the characters from my novels introduce themselves. In my opinion, it is better done that way. Read the reviews. Leave a question or comment. Or make contact through Facebook or Twitter.

    If you wish to purchase a book, please use that menu choice.
    Should you live in or around my hometown, Springfield, Ohio, my novels are available at Teaberries Heart of Country Gift Shoppe and Champion City Guide and Supply. Village Chic, located in nearby South Charleston, carries all three releases. Addresses are provided on the "Purchase" page.

    It's been a pleasure meeting you, and thanks for stopping by!



     Chappell and Wild Raspberries

           Award-winning recipients

Maxy & Readers' Favorite Awards

Podcasts: Click image and listen...