Professional Reviews 

Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont

     Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont received a prestigious review from Best Thrillers on March 21, 2017. The review began:

​     Bottom Line: A clever small-town cozy mystery. Fans of Susan Breen, Edie Claire, and Janet Evanovich may find a new favorite author in Connie Chappell.

​      The review closed with: Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont is easily entertaining enough to make Chappell’s readers hold out hope for a new series installment. 


     * * * * * * * *


     Kam's Place posted this review March 10, 2017, on her site, then followed up with a social media blast:

     The true sign of a great murder mystery novel is the ability of an author to leave you befuddled as to who the killer was. Connie gave us many suspects, motives, and yet I was not completely sure I knew who the proper prime suspect was. I also wondered how she was going to tie the murder and theft together and was impressed how thoroughly she linked the two crimes. Well done, Connie! 

      Read the full review.


​      * * * * * * * *


     Ms. Trulia Smith posted her review on several social media sites on January 27, 2017:

     Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont by Connie Chappell was an interesting, suspenseful read. The story line was complex and the characters very well-defined. I really vibed with Wrenn Grayson, the lead character. I liked her quirkiness and thought it amplified her more intellectual pursuits. Another thing I liked about her is her mad crush of a boyfriend Gideon Douglas. Hubba-hubba! He’s my kind of college professor, and a lot of women seem to feel that way. Then there’s her rather unique problem-solving methodology. This is not your average detective.
     The plot is complicated so thinking caps in place, please. Chappell does a good job of moving it all along while introducing new characters and information in small enough packets that we can absorb and not get overwhelmed. Oh, and the ending … pretty exciting and unexpected. Yes, the solution was cleverly disguised and it’s one most people won’t guess on page two. At least I didn’t and I’m usually pretty good at figuring these things out.
     I recommend Deadly Homecoming at Rosemeont and definitely will be reading Ms. Chappell again. Her writing has an individuality and flair, and the descriptive passages were rather superb. And with both the Egyptian art theft and murder to solve, and the romance and small town hijinks to sink into, what’s not to love?


     * * * * * * * *


​     A portion of Randall W. Ark's review contained these words:

     "Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont is nothing short of a truly compelling murder mystery, interlaced with humor, a very costly theft, and a mystery house that will make the reader anxious with anticipation."

     Mr. Ark is a community contributor to the Springfield News-Sun. His review ran on May 15, 2016.


     * * * * * * * *


     On April 19, 2016, ​​​Tracy A. Fischer, reviewer for Readers' Favorite, praised Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont: 

     "I loved Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont: A Wrenn Grayson Mystery. Loved. It. How's that for a review? Well, it's absolutely how I felt about this fantastic new read. I was sucked in from the very first page, and obsessively read through the whole thing in pretty much one sitting, that's just how intriguing it was. Author Connie Chappell has done a great job in creating a protagonist that her readers will relate to, connect with, and care about. If that isn't a hallmark of a great author, I'm not sure what is. It's hard to believe that this is her first foray into the genre of mystery; she writes like a true master of the craft. I very highly recommend Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont: A Wrenn Grayson Mystery, and I look forward to reading more from the extremely promising author, Connie Chappell, as soon as I possibly can."

    The novel received five stars.


    * * * * * * * *


    On April 25, 2016, Penny Marks, reviewer for NetGalley, provided these words about Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont:

      "Great start to a new series. Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont is full of twists and turns. It will have you gathering clues with every turn of the page. This is a nonstop suspense thriller with an amazing cast of characters. It is very well written especially the detail Connie Chappell goes into describing the historical sites. Loved this! I am excited for book two to see where the author takes the characters."

     The novel received five stars.


     * * * * * * * *


     On March 25, 2016, The Reading Room lauded Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont with this praise:
     "Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont is a cleverly written mystery with plenty of twist and turns. The characters are interesting, as are their interactions. This is a great new series for all to enjoy with an unusual heroine." Reviewed by DelAnne.

     The novel received five stars. 


     * * * * * * * *


​     On March 21, 2016, Enas Reviews published these words about Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont. The novel received five stars.

     Life turns topsy-turvy for historian Wrenn Grayson when she gets to Rosemont Mansion, expecting her payment from the new owner of the mansion, her friend and retired police chief, Clay Addison, but discovers the dead body of Trey Rosemont (who had been missing for decades and was assumed to be dead), lying drenched in blood on the mansion's foyer floor.
     Before Wrenn Grayson can try to find a solution to save Clay Addison, suspected of this mysterious murder, Professor Gideon Douglas, Wrenn’s longtime love, gets into trouble due to the theft of Egyptian artifacts stolen from the history department, adding misery to Wrenn's situation.
     Author Connie Chappell leaves no stone unturned in making her novel, Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont, an intriguing mystery-thriller by adding realistic descriptions to the crime setup and artistically describing the small town of Havens, Ohio. The intertwining mysteries are well-plotted, throwing challenges in protagonist Wrenn's life and keeping readers at the edge of their seats.
     This novel definitely has a strong female protagonist dealing with the hurdles in her way, both with relationships and friendship. Highly recommended.


     * * * * * * * *

     On March 14, 2016, Foreword Reviews published its review of Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont. "This enjoyable, cozy murder mystery features a likable heroine and is an engrossing whodunit." Reviewed by Gary Presley.
     Read the full review. The novel received four stars.

     
* * * * * * * *